We like to supplement the children's learning with educational visits to centres that offer experiences related to the topic being studied at that time.

Children from Drayton Parslow and Mursley schools have the opportunity to participate in a number of trips and visits including Thrift Open Farm, local supermarkets, Whipsnade Zoo, the library and regular visits to Stockgrove Park in Linslade. Key Stage 1 children also have the opportunity to attend science fairs and sport festivals held at local secondary schools. From Swanbourne, Years 5 & 6 visited the Ashmolean museum in Oxford for further their knowledge of British History. Years 3 & 4 visited the Chiltern Open Air Museum and we also like to take the children to the theatre around Christmas and the whole school saw "Peter Pan" at Milton Keynes in December.

In addition to our one-off educational visits, we have a rolling programme of residential and "more substantial" day trips for each year group at Swanbourne throughout Key Stage 2 as follows:

Year 3 - In the summer term Year 3 undertake a one day outdoor adventure experience which has in recent years been held at the Caldecotte "Xperience" in Milton Keynes, including activities such as climbing wall, high ropes course and water sport team building activities, such as raft making or sailing.

Year 4 - In the Summer term Year 4 are offered a two night residential, Woodrow High House in Amersham including a range of outdoor activities and educational experiences.

Year 6 - Year 6 is a busy year for the children with the 11+ in September and SATs in May, so in the summer term they are offered a four night residential to Devon to participate in a range of outside experiences including surfing, coasteering, body boarding, archery, beach games and coastal walking.

More details of each residential follow at the beginning of the academic year in order for parents to plan ahead and begin a payment plan if required.


Designated Persons for Child Protection are the Headteachers, Ms Carol-Anne McCollum and Mr David May

Deputy Designated Persons for Child Protection are Mrs Featherstone, Mrs Heidi Martin and Mrs Rebecca Chapman-Hill